SPJ Award Winners

April 7, 2008

Congratulations to the 2008 Arizona Freedom of Information Award winners, presented by the Valley of the Sun chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.


We’ve all seen the names in by-lines for years.


Hal DeKeyser, editor/publisher of inbuckeye.com, won the Phil Alvidrez Award for lifetime achievement in journalism.


East Valley Tribune reporters Mark Flatten and Jason Massad, as well as Mike Sakal, were presented with the First Amendment Award, recognizing journalism of public importance that would not have been produced without the reliance on the access to government guaranteed by public records or open meetings laws.


The Sunshine Award, which recognizes individuals or groups for making important contributions in the area of open government, was presented to reporter Josh Brodesky of the Arizona Daily Star, columnist Laurie Roberts of the Arizona Republic, and reporter Ryan Gabrielson of the East Valley Tribune.


Gabrielson also captured the Lloyd Clark “How it Made Print” Award, honoring persistence and perseverance in getting the story.


Order of the Silver Key, for 25 years or more in journalism was given to Doug Ramsey, formerly of KTAR and KJZZ, Edythe Jensen of the Arizona Republic and Phil Riske of Arizona Capitol Times.


Jim Larkin and Michael Lacey of Phoenix New Times received the President’s Award.


The Tribute Award, posthumously recognizing Arizona journalists who have died in the previous year, were given to film critic Bill Muller of the Arizona Republic, Craig Smith and Rick Krolak of KNXV-TV,  Scott Bowerbank and Jim Cox of KTVK-TV and Bob Moran of the East Valley Tribune.


It’s a tremendous collection of exemplary journalists.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s